Thursday, October 29, 2009

Tempted - House of Night Series

Tempted came out Tuesday and I'm on page 155 of 319!  I am excited because at first I didn't like this series but it grew on me. For those of you who wonder why @MsEdu  and I call each other Twin well it started in this series.  Check out the House of Night Website House of Night Website

Also some of my very fab twitter friends read this series.





From the House of night site: So…you’d think after banishing an immortal being and a fallen High Priestess, saving Stark’s life, biting Heath, getting a headache from Erik, and almost dying, Zoey Redbird would catch a break. Sadly, a break is not in the House of Night school forecast for the High Priestess in training and her gang. Juggling three guys is anything but a stress reliever, especially when one of them is a sexy Warrior who is so into protecting Zoey that he can sense her emotions. Speaking of stress, the dark force lurking in the tunnels under the Tulsa Depot is spreading, and Zoey is beginning to believe Stevie Rae could be responsible for a lot more than a group of misfit red fledglings. Aphrodite’s visions warn Zoey to stay away from Kalona and his dark allure, but they also show that it is Zoey who has the power to stop the evil immortal. Soon it becomes obvious that Zoey has no choice: if she doesn’t go to Kalona he will exact a fiery vengeance on those closest to her. Will Zoey have the courage to chance losing her life, her heart, and her soul? Find out in the next spectacular installment in the House of Night series, TEMPTED.

Wednesday, October 21, 2009

Hush, Hush

Hush, Hush Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick


My rating: 5 of 5 stars
The inside of the book jacket starts with "A Sacred Oath, A Fallen Angel, A Forbidden Love".  Patch is the irresistible bad boy on the cover.  I read chapter 1 on the author’s site and I was hooked.  For a first time writer she hit it out of the park.  Fans of Dimitri and Rose, Edward and Bella, Jack and Skylar, and Clary and Jace will love this story.  Nora the main character is just trying to get through high school biology when Patch walks into her life and turns it upside down.  She doesn’t know why she stumbles and gets herself twisted when she’s around him.  Patch being a very hot bad boy doesn’t make it easy on Nora.  A lot of strange things happen and Nora is left to deal with them and figure out who is behind it.  I recommend this book to everyone but don’t blame me if you fall for Patch!  He has that affect on all the women!

Also today 10/21/09 from Becca's Twitter Page:














My Earlier Blog about Hush, Hush

Becca Fitzpatrick's Website

Becca's Twitter Page

Becca's Blog

View all my reviews >>

Saturday, October 17, 2009

Strange Angels Review

Strange Angels (Strange Angels #1) Strange Angels by Lili St. Crow


My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I found this book a little hard to follow. There were times I had to go back to see if I missed something. The idea was good and I'm sure I'll read the second book. All the voices in her head made it hard to follow. I hope to see how this develops.

View all my reviews >>

Monday, October 5, 2009

Updated Reading List

October:
  • Finish Prophecy of the Sisters
  • Van Alen Legacy (Blue Bloods #4) by Melissa de la Cruz 5 stars I loved!!!!
  • Strange Angels by Lili St. Crow - 3 Stars
  • Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick
  • Angels on Sunset Blvd by Melissa de la Cruz
  • Tempted (House of Night #6) by P. C. Cast

November
  • Lament: The Faerie Queen's Deception by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Evermore (The Immortals, #1) by Alyson Noel
  • The Hunter's Moon (The Chronicles of Faerie: Book One) by O.R. Melling
  • Re-read New Moon the week before the movie :)
  • The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong

December
  • The Awakening by Kelley Armstrong
  • Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas by James Patterson
  • Let it snow - John Green / Maureen Johnson / Lauren Myracle
  • Ballad: The Gathering of Faerie by Maggie Stiefvater
  • The Hollow by Jessica Verday
  • Swoon by Nina Malkin
Read during September: 
  1. Dreaming Anastasia – Joy Preble 
  2. The Awakening and The Struggle (The Vampire Diaries, #1-2) by L.J. Smith 
  3. The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks 
  4. Shiver by by Maggie Stiefvater 
  5. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins 
  6. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
  7. Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink - not finished

The Van Alen Legacy




October 6th is finally a day away! I am really excited because The Van Alen Legacy, book four in The Blue Blood Series, is finally being released. Melissa de la Cruz left us at a cliff hanger last year. Lawrence Van Alen is dead and Schuyler is blamed for setting the Silver Bloods free. Everyone seems unhappy except the Evil Mimi. Well she’s not evil as in end the world but she is the “B*tch we all love to hate”. So many questions! Will Allegra wake up? What is going on with Bliss? Will Jack go through with the wedding? Where does that leave Schuyler? I can’t wait to pick up my copy tomorrow during lunch. Also Target has a special in-store promotion that has a secret deleted chapter.

For more information check out: http://melissa-delacruz.com 


Sunday, October 4, 2009

Catching Fire (Hunger Games, #2) Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins


My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Katniss is back and dealing with the consequences of her action at the hunger games. She has outsmarted the games only to find that things aren't safe. This book made me laugh, cry, and love these characters. I can't wait for book 3.

View all my reviews >>

Hunger Games

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins


My rating: 5 of 5 stars
This book is so exciting. I am not a sci-fi fan but this book really draws you in. I really like how this whole new world is created and how it's described in such detail. Katniss is so amazing and smart. Also the star cross lovers angle is so great you just eat it up. I loved this book.

View all my reviews