Friday, February 14, 2014

Giveaway: White Space: Book One of The Dark Passages

I want to thank Egmont for providing a giveaway copy of White Space: Book One of The Dark Passages by Ilsa Bick! I love this cover and can't wait to read it! Good luck all!

a Rafflecopter giveaway



White Space: Book One of The Dark Passages
From Ilsa J. Bick--the critically acclaimed author of The Ashes Trilogy--comes the first title in a two-book, young adult series about blurred reality in the tradition of Memento and Inception. This thrilling and scary young adult novel is about blurred reality where characters in a story find that a deadly and horrifying world exists in the space between the written lines.

Seventeen-year-old Emma Lindsay has problems: a head full of metal, no parents, a crazy artist for a guardian whom a stroke has turned into a vegetable, and all those times when she blinks away, dropping into other lives so ghostly and surreal it's as if the story of her life bleeds into theirs. But one thing Emma has never doubted is that she's real.

Then she writes "White Space," a story about these kids stranded in a spooky house during a blizzard. Unfortunately, "White Space" turns out to be a dead ringer for part of an unfinished novel by a long-dead writer. The manuscript, which she's never seen, is a loopy Matrix meets Inkheart story in which characters fall out of different books and jump off the page. When Emma blinks, she might be doing the same and, before long, she's dropped into the very story she thought she'd written. Trapped in a weird, snow-choked valley, Emma meets other kids with dark secrets and strange abilities: Eric, Casey, Bode, Rima, and a very special little girl, Lizzie. What they discover is that they--and Emma--may be nothing more than characters written into being from an alternative universe for a very specific purpose.

Now what they must uncover is why they've been brought to this place--a world between the lines where parallel realities are created and destroyed and nightmares are written--before someone pens their end.

This is the first in a two-book, young adult series from Ilsa J. Bick about blurred reality where characters in a story find that a deadly and horrifying world exists in the space between the written lines. From Wisconsin to an alternate Victorian London, Bick combines elements of thriller, horror, and speculative fiction into a heart-racing story that will leave readers eager to turn the page. Book Two will publish in Spring 2015.


About Ilsa J. Bick
Ilsa J. Bick is a child psychiatrist, film scholar, former Air Force major, and now a full-time author. Her critically acclaimed, award-winning YA novels include The Ashes Trilogy, Draw the Dark, Drowning Instinct, and The Sin-Eater's Confession. Ilsa currently lives in rural Wisconsin, near a Hebrew cemetery. One thing she loves about the neighbors: they're very quiet and only come around for sugar once in a blue moon. You can find her online at www.ilsajbick.com.

11 comments:

  1. Wow... This story just sounds amazing. Kind of twisted and unique. I am really not sure how to explain exactly what attracts me the most because that synopsis attracts me in general.

    ReplyDelete
  2. This sounds utterly creepy!!! I definitely enjoy reading the darker novels so this sounds perfect!

    ReplyDelete
  3. What draws me to White Space is knowing that Ilsa Bick can write some amazing creepy stories. This one sounds just as good and I hope I get to read it soon. Her Ashes trilogy was amazing :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm drawn to the book by the several layers of reality. I think that makes it sound very interesting. Thanks.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I'm drawn to White Space because not only does it sound like a freaky read, but Bick's other book Drowning Instinct is one of my all time favorite books and I've been desperate to read more of her work every since finishing it. Thank you!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I mean, there's a comp for what sounds like an amazing book (Matrix meets Inkheart) WITHIN THIS BOOK. How could I not want to read this??

    ReplyDelete
  7. First of all, I'm drawn to that amazing cover! I mean, WOW!! It's crazy beautiful!! But the premise just sounds intriguing and unique!! Cant wait to read it!

    ReplyDelete
  8. This sounds so creepy and amazing. I love Ilsa's Ashes trilogy so I'm eager to read anything by her.

    ReplyDelete
  9. sounds like a mystery thriller i would enjoy! :)

    ReplyDelete
  10. It sounds suspenseful

    ReplyDelete
  11. I like that it says that it is thrilling and scary.
    Thanks for the chance to win!

    ReplyDelete

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...