Wednesday, June 10, 2015

Review: Finding Paris by Joy Preble

Finding Paris Book Cover
Finding Paris by Joy Preble

Published: April 21, 2015 by HarperTeen

About the Book:

An evocative and compelling story of two sisters who would do anything for each other—perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Speak. Joy Preble's stirring new novel explores the lengths to which sisters go to protect each other, and the winding road that brings two strangers into each other's lives.
Sisters Leo and Paris Hollings have only ever had each other to rely on. They can't trust their mother, who hops from city to city and from guy to guy, or their gambler stepfather, who's moved them all to Las Vegas. It's just the two of them: Paris, who's always been the dreamer, and Leo, who has a real future in mind—going to Stanford, becoming a doctor, falling in love. But Leo isn't going anywhere right now, except driving around Vegas all night with her sister.
Until Paris ditches Leo at the Heartbreak Hotel Diner, where moments before they had been talking with physics student Max Sullivan. Outside, Leo finds a cryptic note from Paris—a clue. Is it some kind of game? Where is Paris, and why has she disappeared? When Leo reluctantly accepts Max's offer of help, the two find themselves following a string of clues through Vegas and beyond. But the search for the truth is not a straight line. And neither is the path to secrets Leo and Max hold inside.

Review
I found Finding Paris to be a huge departure from Joy’s previous novels Dreaming Anastasia and The Sweet Dead Life. Finding Paris will quickly draw you in and you will find it hard to put down. Leo is out with her sister Paris at a café when Paris dares Leo to go talk to a guy. Leo finds out she has a lot in common with Max so Paris gives them some alone time. When Leo goes outside to look for Paris she realizes Paris is gone and not answering her phone. To make things stranger Leo finds a note that makes it seem that Paris is in trouble. Paris seems to be sending Leo on a scavenger hunt that leads to her sister and secrets that will make you question everything.

The entire time I kept reading Finding Paris I thought of Pretty Little Liars and all the riddles and twist the girls have to solve. Towards the end I thought I had everything figured out to learn I really didn’t. Finding Paris has some great characters, but also some very flawed individuals that will pull at your emotions.

My only complaint would be that I would have liked for a few issues in the last chapters to be more detailed. Since this is not the first book in a series, the end is just that; the final chapter, The End, there isn't a "to be continued". That is why I think that some of the subplots needed a better resolution or lead the reader towards a better conclusion for the characters we've invested sleepless nights over. It’s hard to say without giving away the ending. If you are a fan of Pretty Little Liars or love a book with a ton of twists then I highly recommend picking up Finding Paris. Finding Paris will be a book that stays with me for a long time!


To learn more about Joy Preble visit: www.joypreble.com

5 comments:

  1. You are right this did seema bit like pretty little liars. I haven't read any of the author's other works. I really liked this one too. Glad you enjoyed it as well.

    Great Review!

    Michelle @ Book Briefs

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Michelle,

      You should read The Sweet Dead Life I thought it was a really fun book. Thanks so much for visiting my blog!

      Thanks,
      Maria

      Delete
  2. It's on my TBR stack--looking forward to it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you enjoy it and we should chat after so we can compare notes :)

      Delete
  3. I liked the combination of heavier topics with a mystery feel. Glad you liked it!

    ReplyDelete